Why Character Trumps Credentials

You know there is much in the world to whine about: economic underperformance, poverty, modern slavery, austerity and neoliberalism for starters. On a philosophical level, why is it that some people live in fear and dread of the bank while others are a law to themselves, keen on self-promotion, piling up stolen goods and making wealthy by extortionate profit and unjust margins? And why, for example, on an emotional level, is there such anger, wretchedness, gloating, scarcity, misery and anxiety within the world? Apparently, if any of us knew the answers to these questions, we wouldn’t be asking them. And yet, these are not just only questions for today, but questions from the past and, no doubt, questions for future generations too.

Over the past two years, I have been asking such deep, meaningful, and even tormented questions, time and time again. As, you might imagine, trying to pull oneself out of a state of self-pity, discontent, distress and debt is no fun. The journey my family and I have been on are a long-suffering, fractious and disjointed group of stories. And, right now, it is no easier as I try to regain meaningful employment and new sources of income. I could quickly, and still do reflect on why, after many years of earnest endeavour and sacrifice a competitor ruined my business, Culinary Innovations Ltd. when I was achieving so much progress. And why, another competitor was so keen to copy my business model and indeed my copyright text, and then buy my stock below market value when vulnerable. Until now I have kept my silence.  However, my intent is no longer to put up with the contempt of companies, indeed governments, and influencers of all persuasions, who are quick to take advantage of self-interest without taking consideration of their moral and social consciences. My reply is just beginning. And today, I make it to the starting gun and cross over the line for the next chapter in my life’s sojourn.

But before I continue however I want to put my hope that living as an ex-bankrupt can be positive, fulfilling, and joyful. That I can rejoice in whatever circumstances I have to face and will continue to face. This blog then is the story of my daily struggle to climb back the ladders of economic justice and competence with such virtues that I once lacked: prudence, temperance, fortitude, justice and as much humility as I can muster.

You see, I have learned a crucial lesson in life, especially economic life. When you see vulnerable people, organisations and countries fall in on themselves (like they do), I am better prepared to handle their personal stories, business challenges, and political ventures and can hold conversations that invoke constructive change. Thus, my sad story is not one I wish to hide. Far from it. It’s the opposite. It’s one I want to present courageously to others as a challenge to business morality, financial integrity, and government providence. To whistleblow on those who exploit power, position, and money. And to tell a story about ethical, economic systems and the moral imperative to see why the process of business and the journey within an economy, not always the end-result, matter and motivate people. In other words to understand that character trumps credentials and yours and my stories are much more than a resume or an ‘About Us’ page.

And so over the coming days, I hope to post my story of renewed confidence and revival so that you the reader, can come to know the entirely authentic me. And in return, I can layout my recommendations for a new kind of finance in an age that blurs the lines of professionalism, ethics, and conduct.

Leave a Reply

